Worm Jam, pt 2 - Crime of Passion

15 September 2024

Note: this is part of a series on writing for the His Majesty the Worm Game Jam. Check out the intro post here!

Contents

Intro

Following on my last post, I'm going to start keying my dungeon using advice from the free underworld creation document. I took a break from writing to navigate a pretty busy month, so I haven't thought about this as intentionally as I'd hoped. Still, coming back and re-reading my first post, I remain happy with what the cards gave me, so the keying process shouldn't be so bad. Let's get into it.

Keying the Dungeon

I'm gonna focus on baseline ideas for right now and fiddle with tying in mechanics later!

Recap

Here's our seed from last time:

Sight:

Soft white hills. An icy river between two moons: one above, one reflected. Small lumps line the footpath - frozen messengers with cracked blue lips. Each holds a letter bearing the seal of a forgotten crown. Unseen counsel. They will not be buried.

Sounds:

Torn, ragged voices singing hymns with little talent - this is a soldier's chorus. Water trickling, drinks clinking. Solemn camaraderie muted by snow.

Smell and Taste:

From the north: ash, overcooked meat, burnt hair. From the south: astringent taste, like vinegar or spoilt wine. In the center: cider and spices, stone soup, warm breath.

Lighting:

To the south a translucent lighthouse stands proud. Dark blue fuel pumps through to keep the flame bright. Its counterpart up north: six soot-black pinewood towers dotted with cinders. The stubborn glows inside refuse to die. Cold stars blink up high, uncaring.

Structures:

Arrows coated in eternal flame stick from the snow. At their edges, thin wafers of ice continually melt and reform. The soldiers use these to build wobbling crystalline shacks. Fragile, but keeps the cold out.

Common Monsters:

Soldiers of Moon and Dove, bitter love phantasms, vengeful messengers, burned-out husks, endless flame wisps, fragile glass constructs, lighthouse tenders

Dungeon Lord(s):

The Weeping Moon & The Punctured Dove


Core Thoughts

So, we've got two (ex-)lovers stewing on their thrones from opposite ends of a battlefield. How do we deal with them? My lazy idea: each lover has some precious object that must be returned to them to end their hatred, BUT both objects ideally have to be given at the same time. Otherwise one will overpower the other and lead to a Bad End.

Character outlines:


A reason to explore

The straightforward first thought here is that there's some kind of great treasure or boon that can only be retrieved once the lovers are reunited. I'm going to refer back to our sight seed - I'm drawn to the idea of a moon in our underground space. Obviously this'll be written as, like, a prophecy that's communicated to anyone who enters the area.


A reason to flee

The underworld creation document is very thorough here.

flee

OK, I guess I'll put a dragon in my dungeon.


A reason to talk

By my reckoning, we've got three main factions in this dungeon: The Moon, the Dove, and the pacifist soldiers in between. The book suggests listing what they want and don't want. Seems easy enough!

added to my moodboard after writing the above

Is it annoying that there's a character named The Moon and, separately, a setting-relevant moon? Yeah, a little, but I don't really care. I like the idea of players talking to the soldiers and having to double check which moon is being discussed. I'll use moon above to refer to the actual physical object.


A reason to fight

Just regular degular baddies. I'll use my common monsters seed from last post for this one.


A reason to breathe easy

Seems simple enough to bring in our pacifist soldiers here.


A reason to experiment

My first thought turns to something in the Weeping Moon's alchemic keep. I was uhhh mostly just bullshitting when I wrote that bit earlier about wanting to understand every atom of their own self, but it's an interesting thing to pull from. I'll try this, pulling from our lighting seed:


A reason to be surprised

The seed I created was great for aesthetic details, but it's harder to rip from it directly for writing secrets, I think. But since we're apparently focusing on the Moon's keep right now, I'll just draw from that.

inspired by the goofy soul-activated golems from dark souls 2

A reason to return

A reminder that this place exists as part of an interconnected megadungeon. I think this is a good point to flesh out the objects that will pacify our lovers. In this post, I'll work on the Weeping Moon.

...I've been reading Monstrilio by Gerardo Sámano Córdova recently so I guess lung children are on the mind. Probably in the final document I'll add a suggestion for placing the lung inside this space in case you don't want to deal with putting it in an entirely separate dungeon.


Interesting Rooms

The document just says to come up with ideas and write them down, so I'll do that! I'm gonna spitball a few images here based on what we've fleshed out (the Moon's keep) and what we haven't (the Dove's), as well as a few bits from the seed that we haven't used yet.

What's Next?

There's a few key blanks to fill in:

I think for the next post I'll do another pass of this keying process to bring life to the opposite keep, use all that new information to flesh out the Meatgrinder, maybe add a few more points of interest, and call it a day. My end goal is somewhere between 16-20 rooms for the dungeon level. After that I've got to force myself to sit down and lay everything out, which I'm not looking forward to. Luckily that's a problem for future me. Present me can look forward to the fun part of writing out the rest of the dungeon. See you soon!