Worm Jam, pt 3 - Torches Gutter

21 September 2024

Note: this is part of a series on writing for the His Majesty the Worm Game Jam. Check out the intro here and the previous post here!

Contents

Intro

Finishing out the groundwork of this adventure before I start the horrific ritual of consolidating everything into a PDF. No point wasting time, let's get into it! We're running back the same keying advice as last post. This time around I'll be exploring the fiery wooden keep of the Punctured Dove.

Keying Round 2

A reason to explore

Last time for this section I wrote the entrance for the dungeon and hinted at the treasure on the moon, so I might as well go ahead and define that.


A reason to flee

Already did a dragon, so I'm not doing that one again. I'm eyeballing the Lighting section of my seed again with those six burning towers, plus the burning arrows seen in the Structures section. I like the idea of an impenetrable wall of arrows.

writing this made me really miss samurai jack

A reason to talk

Last time I fleshed out the factions, but the lovers definitely have servants, right? Or at least something living within their keep. The Moon probably has little glass homunculi built for specific purposes, but who's hanging out in the Dove's keep? I keep coming back to the flames around her as eternal. I like the idea of servants whose job is not to create new fire but just move the existing flames from place to place and freshen up the decor.

i'm imagining the dark souls 3 pilgrims, but, uh. red.

A reason to fight

I haven't really utilized those burned-out husks from the Common Monsters seed yet. Now seems like the time for it! The Dove's core idea involves holding onto her anger, so I'll weave that in as well.


A reason to breathe easy

Gonna pull in the Interesting Rooms section from last post.


A reason to experiment

This one came to me in a vision while I was at the gym and I had to write it down in my notes app so I'm gonna try and capture that energy here lol


A reason to be surprised

I think now that I've created a big obvious obstacle for entering the keep, I should add a side door with some kind of secret / puzzly method of entry.

thinkin bout this door from kill six billion demons

A reason to return

Last time in this slot I detailed the Super Special Secret Object that'll pacify the Weeping Moon. This time I'll do the same for the Dove. I'm thinking since the Moon's lung is in a different dungeon level entirely, I'll make this one a little more obvious and accessible.


The Meatgrinder Table

This is one of the game's most interesting innovations imo - a twenty-one entry random table that covers everything from rumors, lost light, encounters, and flavor. The first five entries are supposed to be torches guttering, taxing the guild's visibility, but frankly I don't think this part of the megadungeon is dimly lit. In this case the book suggests replacing it with hunger entries, which sounds solid to me. Unfortunately I've already titled this post after the torches thing because it's a phrase that sounds nice. C'est la vie!

Having two keeps with very different vibes on the same encounter table feels a little weird, so I'll do my best to ensure the results can be reasonably applied regardless of location.

Card Meatgrinder Event
I Hunger strikes (everyone consume a ration)
II Hunger strikes
III Hunger strikes
IV Hunger strikes
V Hunger strikes
VI [Curiosity] The smell of burnt flesh. Charred scraps wriggle towards the living.
VII [Curiosity] A teeny glass beetle filled with a teardrop of bright blue liquid. It seems scared.
VIII [Curiosity] A hymn on the wind. The singers' voices are ragged and torn.
IX [Curiosity] There's a messenger on the ground, dead, wrapped in postal blues. Their letter is gone - they hold only ash.
X [Curiosity] The moon above rotates suddenly, shifting the light to a different hue.
XI [Travel event] A quicksilver statue of a man doubled over, as if coughing. Looking at it amplifies your current emotion to dangerous levels. How does the guild calm themselves? Anyone without a good idea is stressed.
XII [Travel event] What looks like a nobleman's corpse is, on closer inspection, a wooden dummy. Touching it triggers the hidden bear trap underneath.
XIII [Travel event] Gnarled black vines with long, angry thorns emerge abruptly from the ground, surrounding the adventurers. Kindness withers them.
XIV [Travel event] A noxious blue gas emits from a crack. All nearby metal is rusted. The gas notches any armor passing through.
XV [Travel event] The moon above begins weeping. Giant mercurial tears hurtle down. If not under cover, test Pentacles - getting hit spoils all your rations.
XVI [Random encounter] Two Mementos, one of each lover, ripping each other apart, blindly crashing about the room in their furor.
XVII [Random encounter] Three members of the Mending Division on a ritual hunt for the Weeping Moon's lung. They know it's not here, but "the joy is in the seeking".
XVIII [Random encounter] A group of [discard] glass-bodied nobles deep in experimental fervor. All they need is a little blood and it'll allllll come together (take 1 wound and they'll leave without issue).
XIX [Random encounter] [Adventurers - 1] cackling firetenders, spreading flame in an inconvenient spot just for shiggles.
XX [Random encounter] [Adventurers] husks dancing around an unexpected flower. Their pinky fingers twist and bind like a rat king's tails.
XXI [Quest Rumor] A clue for the next step of the guild's quest, delivered in context of the dungeon.

What's Next?

The herculean task of actually finishing this shit out. I've got a week to do it which seems manageable. My plan is to whip up a quick map with Dungeon Scrawl, put together some cover art with some basic public domain stuff, and throwing it all together using the free creator's kit. After that, my next post should ideally be a return to my depthcrawl design series, which I'm itching to work on. Wish me luck, and take care!